Let the bees buzz as the perennials bloom!

Hydrangeas in front of the Office de Tourisme ...

Image via Wikipedia

      I love this time of year! There isn’t a day that goes by no matter how rushed I am that I don’t find a new flower, a new bird, a new WEED in my gardens! The hostas are still fresh and green, the Leucanthemums are starting to pop, the Astilbes are blooming and I just feel refreshed!

    The birds wake me up in the early pre-dawn mornings with their calls to one another…the hummingbirds flitter here and there from flower to flower, the orioles pop in from time to time and I await the bluebirds!  The bees are busy and I know they just can’t wait till the Agastache begins to bloom!  They swarm those beauties!  The dragonflies can’t make up their minds if they want to visit the yellows purples or pinks!  It’s funny to watch their confusion!

      There is much discussion out there on the web and among conscientious gardening  groups regarding the natives that are available on the market and the cultivars that are created….but that is for another discussion and another day!  Needless to say I am happy when my perennials arrive from the soil in the spring and perform well throughout the season.   I treasure each summer day and have taught myself NOT to watch the clock each night to see that the sun will set earlier and earlier! (yes…I used to do this!)

   The hydrangea are budded and just getting ready to show off their showy blossoms! I spoke to a woman today that has babied hers so much that the blue they should be blooming has been bleached a Chartreuse green!  I told her to “walk-away” from the Hydrangea!  Ha Ha!

  If you get a chance, try out the fairly new Coreopsis ‘Creme Brulee’.  I have been pretty impressed with the growth habit and the blossom thus far!  (pretty hard to impress me with a Coreopsis!)  The new Echinacea ‘Pow Wow Wild Berry’ (I know where do they come up with the names!) seems to be a robust plant with sturdy stems and high bud count and the flower is impressive too! I must also mention Hakonechloa ‘All Gold’….great short, golden arching grass for the shade…..LOVE IT! 

   If you find that your garden isn’t giving back….drop in to your local garden center and pick up yourself a pretty that will make your day!  Enjoy till next time!

3 responses to “Let the bees buzz as the perennials bloom!

  1. Pingback: $15 for $30 Worth of Perennials, Shrubs, and Trees at Blossom Nurseries in Yorktown Heights » Get your daily Groupon deals

  2. Pingback: $20 for $40 Worth of Plants and Garden-Center Products at A. Thomas & Sons in Milton » Get your daily Groupon deals

  3. Pingback: $20 for $40 Worth of Plants at Made in the Shade Perennials Inc. » Get your daily Groupon deals

Leave a Reply

